Bhuvneshwar, Dhawan Opt Out Of Ind Vs SL Series

Indian cricket team’s opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan and fast-bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been released from the India Test squad for the Sri Lankan series.

Bhuvneshwar will miss the remaining two Tests against Sri Lanka while Dhawan will be available for selection for the third Test, a BCCI media release stated on Monday (November 20).

The duo has been released following a request owing to personal reasons. Bhuvneshwar, who is set to be married on November 23, would be replaced by Vijay Shankar, the Tamil Nadu all-rounder. In Dhawan’s absence, Murali Vijay is likely to be brought back to fill the opener’s position.

India squad for the second Test: Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar.