The Ashes: Australia Announces Playing XI

The Australia cricket team playing XI has been announced by the captain Steven Smith on Wednesday for the first Ashes Test against England starting at The Gabba, Brisbane on Thursday.

Opener David Warner, the team’s vice-captain, was included in the playing XI despite suffering a neck injury while taking a high catch during training earlier this week.

“He’s very confident and he says he’ll be right to go,” Smith told reporters ahead of Thursday’s Ashes opener at The Gabba. “He’ll be OK. It’s part and parcel of playing cricket. Guys have injuries every now and then and have little niggles.

“He’s improved a fair bit over the last 24 hours and hopefully he can keep improving and be 100 percent at match time.”

Australia squad for 1st Ashes Test: David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (capt), Peter Handscomb, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.