15 New Castes included in Central OBC List

This wednesday, the government approved the proposal of invitation of 15 new castes and modification of 13 other castes in the list of castes coming under OBC category. The union cabinet approved the changes.

Overall, a total of 28 new changes have been done in the list with respect of 8 states which are: Assam, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Uttarakhand.

“The changes will enable the persons belonging to these castes/communities to avail the benefits of reservation in Government services and posts as well as in Central Educational Institutions as per the existing policy,” according to an official statement.  The added castes will be able to enjoy the benefits under various welfare schemes.

Also, the center is deciding to relax the creamy layer norms for OBC.

Hope the decision does not produce any riots within the society.

Featured image source: ndtv.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.